Meal Plan 1/24/16-1/30/16

I am a typical person – great intentions…and then life busts in!

Last week I made Chicken & Artichoke Soup which we ate on for a good portion of the week…but we also had fast food:( I am REALLY trying to pull us away from fast food and from cereal at dinner BUT again, life happens. Poor planning is half of it and motivation is the other half. I HATE buying food with the intention of cooking it and then letting it go to waste. So this week – working at it again:)

On the menu:

Chicken & Artichoke Soup*
4 cups of chicken broth
2 cans of artichoke hearts, quartered
1 cup chopped scallions
1 tsp dried thyme
Old Bay Seasoning
4 tbsp of butter
1/4 cp all-purpose flour
1 lb. of chicken breasts cut in bite sized pieces

Combine the broth, artichokes, scallions, thyme and Old Bay to taste in a large soup pot Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10-12 minutes. Make a roux in a separate small saucepan by melting the butter and whisking in the flour for 1-2 minutes. Add the roux to the soup gradually, whisking as you go. Add the chicken until cooked through.

Red Bean and Red Pepper Soup*
1 pound kidney beans
2 onions, chopped
3 celery stalks
2 bay leaves
1 jar of red bell peppers, chopped
1/4 cp. red wine
10 cps of chicken broth

Combine all ingredients and bring to a boil over high heat, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat and simmer for about 3 hours. Remove the bay leaves and then puree soup until smooth.

*These soups are adapted from my favorite soup cook book: Soup Night

Italian Orzo Spinach Soup

The is the delicious soup I made with items I had on hand:) I did not do the Spinach (because what I had on hand was bad!) and I added in green bell pepper (because I didn’t want them to go bad before I used them!) The end result was a soup that both my husband AND my kids loved! Try it! Adapt it! Enjoy it!

 

Leave a Reply

