Dreams

Dreams(1)

Today was a day…a crazy day. When I awoke this morning I had a feeling it was going to be rough, but I didn’t anticipate HOW rough…but in the midst of the roughness I got to sit with a friend and share my son’s dream of being in the NFL…and his entrepreneurial genius.

Yes, I used the word “genius.”

My precious boy is all about the mighty dollar. He doesn’t expect it to grow on trees…he expects to earn it. By selling things. And he knows how the market works.

At 6 he was selling rocks…If you were a kid, the rock was $5; but if you were lucky enough to have a mom or grandma GIVE you money to purchase the rock? Well then it was $8.

Earlier this year his school had a book fair. My son wrote a book and wanted to sell it at the book fair in all of it’s stapled together goodness. A rip on one of the pages? No worries – that created an UPCHARGE. Yes…books with ripped pages were MORE expensive. I think we say it’s been aged? It’s an antique?

He also gave out Pet Sitting notices to our neighbors when he read a book about Clifford’s pet sitting business (he also expected ALL of the animals to stay at our house like they did with Clifford)…and then there was the baseball card stand in our front yard…which he marketed to his friends…

My sweet boy has AMBITION and I am going to do everything in my power to embrace these gifts he is showing at an early age and to help them to grow. He wants to be in the NFL…I’ve become friends with men who can shed life on that type of career (and have agreed to sit with him and talk about it!)…He wants to publish a book? We talked about meeting authors and researching self publishing…and the issues of copyright (his first book is about the most recent Superbowl – umm “Big Game”).

I never want my kids to feel like their dreams aren’t attainable – but I do want them to know what goes into making those dreams happen – even at the young ages of 6 and 8. Lincoln asked what my dream was when I was his age and I was able to quickly answer – be an author. Just like I wrote about last night, the dream is still in my heart, but on pause for another time. The exciting part is seeing the same things that drove me as a child inside of Lincoln – his love for reading, his love for writing…and within Kellen – his love to serve and to cook!

It’s so important to embrace our children’s gifts and talents as we begin to discover them. I told Lincoln I want to expose him to ALL the opportunities within his chosen field – regardless of the field. I reminded him that we are not promised tomorrow – nothing is set in stone. His dream of becoming an NFL player could be sidelined due to injury or something unexpected like a car accident (Lincoln kindly reminded me of Brett Favre’s story…something about him being in a car accident and STILL making it to the NFL)…but while we wait to see how his story unfolds, I told Lincoln the only expectation I had of him was to execute what he learns. If my friend tells him to do 100 football drills each day, then he needs to work towards that…and as his mom, I will help him however I can to learn and grow and execute the things he needs to execute (that seems to be my buzz word today!)

I LOVE helping people accomplish their goals. I love creating the plan to make it to happen. The same friend I shared Lincoln’s dream with, I also gave ideas for HIS daughter, who is becoming her own entrepreneur. I literally get high on helping…which is good…because I don’t do drugs:)

Signature_Pink

 

Leave a Reply

