Lessons Learned from a Soccer Ball to the Face

a-little-progress-each-day-adds-up-to-big-resultsBelow is what I shared with my fitness/accountability group this morning…this seems to be a reoccurring theme in my life…but I’m noticing it pops up more when I have not been on point with my healthy eating. It completely messes with my system – and now that I’m laser focused on my health and fitness I can easily see the difference it makes (positive when I do what I should and negative when I don’t).

But…the key is to not let it derail me when I’m off…just like when my son got nailed in the face with a soccer ball at practice the other day (he was fine – stunned and a few tears, but no blood)…

He DID NOT want to go back into the game. I gave him some water, let him catch his breath and then encouraged him to go back in…and he did. He was nervous, but he DID IT!

At the end of practice there were no signs that he’d ever been hit in the face. I know that if I’d let him stop (like he wanted) then it would’ve been that much hard for him to go back to soccer because the hit to the face would be the only thing he remembered. Now he remembers the fun parts of soccer and the feeling of conquering that fear.

It’s the same with your health and fitness…if you slide one day and let that control you, it will be THAT much harder the next day and the next…but if you recognize the issues you can take back control and jump right back on track.


DAY 18 ā€¢ Today at 4:33 AM ET

Can I be honest? I REALLY wanted to be PERFECT this week! Sounds so easy, right? Workout and shake everyday in the morning – that’s it and you guys are killing it!

But yesterday and the day before were ROUGH…I got workouts in, but the shakes lost out to sleep (not lying – I literally laid down thinking I’d get back up again and BAM I was out like a light)…

It’s 4:30am and I woke in a funk. I think it was due in part that I had some weird conversations with people yesterday regarding one of my kids and it just left me feeling off – like I did something wrong…which of course catapults me even farther into the funk b/c I’m not feeling like I’m on my A-game. The other part was my lack of shake and actual lunch (I’m being honest, remember?)…plus a drive-thru meal which was less than healthy…

It’s REALLY easy to let ourselves fall victim to the pile-on mentality…which is a term I just made up right now on the spot. Pile-On Mentality: When one thing goes wrong, it’s all going wrong, so we should just fold. Right now. Fold. We are going down with the ship.

I hate that feeling. I hate failure AND I’m a people pleaser, so I feel like I do the failure thing twice…once for me and then replaying it over and over again because obviously everyone else is thinking – “That GIRL – can’t she GET IT TOGETHER?”

Ha.

So I’m here to tell you – Yet Again – take it ONE DAY AT A TIME. It’s about the LONG Term NOT the SHORT Term. We are in it for the long haul – bumps, bruises and ALL.

I hope this encourages you today – that you don’t have to be perfect, you just have to be honest with yourself. And then shake it off – like good ‘ole Tay-Tay sings šŸ™‚

Yesterday was not my best day – but today is a NEW day. And I’m in it to win it:) Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

